Gratitude and positivity.

Had a reasonably good day today; just chilled out with my daughter, playing, making her giggle and generally feeling quite good. Had a small bump in the road this evening, when someone I thought was a friend, posted a really nasty comment on a photo of my daughter and I. As someone with very little self esteem and zero confidence in my appearance, it really hurt and upset me for a while. But, I cried, then picked myself up and decided that she’s not worth crying about. She’s just one person, and her opinion doesn’t matter to me. So, I’ve been thinking and trying to find all the positives in my life to focus on, and figured I’d post my thoughts here! So here goes….

First up, has to be my daughter; I’ve never known love like I feel for her, it’s so overwhelming and to be honest completes me. She’s my absolute world and I can’t imagine life without her. She makes me smile, she makes me laugh, and she makes me proud. She’s turned our world upside down, but has changed it for the better.

Second, is of course, my husband; he works so hard for us, and without him I’d be so lost. On the 27th of this month, we’ll have been married for 7 years! It’s crazy how time flies by, and how so much has changed. We’ve been through so many stressful times, upsetting times and quite frankly shitty times, but we’ve always made it through and come out stronger on the other side. He too is my world, and I love him unconditionally.

Another thing I’m grateful for is our home; it took us a long time to get to where we are, but persistence and patience paid off, and we got our forever home. It’s perfect for us, and I love living here. It’s quiet, warm, and the neighbours are all friendly. It’s all good.

I’m grateful for my family and friends; after the hurtful comment earlier, I’ve had some really lovely comments from friends, which makes up for the rubbish one. I may not see or speak to people all that often, but they’re always there, and that means a lot.

We may not be well off, and we struggle financially a heck of a lot, but what matters most is we have each other. We have a roof over our head, clothes on our backs, and food in our tummies (albeit not exactly very healthy, but it’s food nonetheless). We’re better off that many in this world, and I think we often forget that. We need to focus on what we do have, rather than what we don’t. Make the most of those things, instead of wanting more. Yes it’s hard some days, but we’ll survive, we always do. And to be quite honest, it could be so much worse. That’s what we’ve got to think of when we’re struggling. It could ALWAYS be worse.

Yes, life is a challenge, but nothing worth having comes easily. It’s hard, but it’s worth it.

We’re making plans for the future too, so it gives me hope and something to look forward to. Deep down, I am happy, and content. Some days I just find it hard to feel it, especially when I’m tired and a bit cranky. But, hey, that’s life, and I know that we’ll be okay.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

