Reflection.

No, I’m not talking about what you see when you look in the mirror; I rarely do that!

I’m talking about reflecting on the past and what has brought me to where I am now.

In my Facebook memories and Timehop this morning, were statuses and photo’s about when we moved into the housing association flat. At the time, we thought it was great, a really positive move for us all. Somewhere that our baby could grow up and we could all be happy. But it didn’t turn out that way. After about a week of living there, our perfect little bubble was popped. The neighbours upstairs returned from holiday, and that’s where the doors of hell were opened. Constant trouble with their brat of a teenager, loud music, large groups of lads hanging about outside, smoking drugs, swearing and generally being obnoxious and a pain in the arse. I was over 20 weeks pregnant by then, so needed time to rest, but I never got it. Every time I tried to take a nap, the lad upstairs would turn up his music, or they’d have a massive row, shouting and swearing at each other and slamming doors. I began to despair to be honest. I hated living there. No one seemed to understand how miserable it made me.

Fast forward 4 months and the arrival of our little lady 🙂 and whilst I was still in hospital, the housing association contacted my husband to tell us that we had to leave! At that point it was a stress we could of done without, and still the constant crap from above us continued, despite them knowing we had a baby. In all honesty though, the ending of the private leasing scheme, and hence our notice to quit, was actually a blessing in disguise. After a lot of stress, worry and panic, we finally got our forever home with the council. When I first looked around, I wasn’t greatly impressed if I’m honest, but it was clean, tidy and at that point, we couldn’t refuse it, or they’d have taken us off the list and we’d have ended up homeless. So, I agreed to take the property, and we began to pack up our lives and move again. This time with a baby, so it was a lot harder! But, we did it, and we’ve now been here nearly 4 months. It’s quiet, it’s warm, it’s near a couple of shops (including a Tesco Express), and there’s a few primary schools to choose from for our daughter. Oh, and a high school too. So really it couldn’t be better for us. I love the house, albeit slightly lacking in the kitchen department (it’s tiny!!), but overall it does us well.

Looking back on it all, despite the stress and aggro, I probably wouldn’t change it, not any of it. It all worked out in the end, and we’re a stronger family as a result. I believe that everything happens for a reason, and even if that reason isn’t apparent at the time (or even later down the line!), I still believe it to be true. We obviously weren’t meant to stay at the flat long, it was merely a stop gap between our old home and our new. As long as we keep up with the rent etc, there’ll be no reason for us to move again either. Well, unless the family expands…. but even then, if we were to have another girl, then we’d be fine. But anyway, that’s another story. And my laptop is about to die…. so I shall say TTFN.

 

Leave a Reply

